Apaches named to all-district team


GONZALES — The 10-4AD2 All District Football Team was released this week, with multiple athletes on the Gonzales Apaches (6-5, 3-2) named to the team.

Senior defensive back Colby Cox was unanimously voted as the defensive MVP of the district. Juan Licea also took an MVP award, winning lineman MVP of the district.

Named to the offensive first-team all-district team was running back Kalub Carrizales (unanimous), wide receiver Trevion McNeil (unanimous), guard Nick Ramirez (unanimous).

Named to the second team were quarterback Garrett Rickman, running back James Martinez, wide receiver Heber Cardona, tight end Alex Villa and tackle Brandon Carrizales.

On the defensive first-team all-district team were tackle Trent Wilkerson (unanimous), defensive end Jared Esparza, linebacker Corey Anzaldua (unanimous), cornerback Aaron Rocha and safety Kenneth Cavit. Named to the second team were linebacker James Martinez and cornerback Trevion McNeil. McNeil was also named to the second team as a return specialist.

Honorably mentioned were Nico Anzaldua as a center, Bradly Bakken as tackle, Lion Williamson as a defensive end, Ja’Corveon Walton as a linebacker, Contrell Smith as a linebacker, Heath Henke as a safety and Levi Hernandez as a punter.

Named to the academic all-district team were Seth Gibson, Corey Anzaldua, Trevion McNeil, Heath Henke, Kenneth Cavit, Chris Box, Heber Cardona, Diego Diaz, Alex Villa, Jared Esparza, Nico Anzaldua, Lion Williamson, Vicente Reyna, Manuel Olalde Granados, Brandon Carrizales, Bradley Bakken, Juan Licea and Matthew Almaraz.