Gonzales school board sets polling date, time


On Monday’s regularly scheduled Gonzales ISD school board meeting, the board of trustees officially ordered an election to take place on May 2. Only one of the three seats up for GISD board will be contested as District 5 Trustee Ross Hendershot III drew a challenger in Christina Price. Glenn Menking and Sue Gottwald both refiled for their respective seats and will retain their seats due to no challengers signing up to run.

Early voting will take place from April 20-24 from 8 a.m. – 4 p.m. and April 27-28 from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. at the Gonzales ISD Administrative Office, located at 1711 N. Sarah DeWitt Drive, Gonzales, Texas, 78629. Early voters can also vote at the Harwood Community Center at 1001 CR 230 N, Harwood, Texas 78632.

Voting on Election Day, May 2, will take place at North Avenue Intermediate at 1032 St. Joseph Street, Gonzales, Texas. The poll opens from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

For more information, contact Lucy Peña at 830-672-9551 ext. 1221 or email at lucy.pena@gonzalesisd.net.

In other news:
Ross Hendershot III was unable to make the meeting, but the remaining six trustees approved unanimously the following agenda items:

Minutes of the Feb. 10 board meeting and budget amendments

  • An amended order and notice of the May 2 board elections to reflect the extended hours and place, as listed above
  • Approved the certification of the unopposed candidates for District 3 and 6 (Glenn Menking and Sue Gottwald) for the May 2 board elections
  • Approved the cancelation for the May 2 trustee election for District 3 and 6 (Glenn Menking and Sue Gottwald) since they are unopposed
  • Approved the presiding judge, alternate judge and clerk for the District 5 election and set compensation rates
  • Approved amendment to DCE (local) policy
  • Approved the 2020-2021 interlocal cooperative agreement with Nixon-Smiley Consolidated Independent School District, to continue their previous agreement in relation to the DAEP, DAEP Level III, Support Center and the PACE Program
  • Approved the members to the Textbook Selection Committee